Sha Tin Junior School

Founded : 1988

Age range : 5 to 11

Number of students : 900

Curriculum : IB Primary Years Programme

ESF Sha Tin Junior School opened in 1988 and provides an English medium education for the children of families who reside in the New Territories of Hong Kong. We share a safe, secure and well-resourced site with our partner secondary school, ESF Sha Tin College.

A recent school refurbishment programme has ensured the provision of new facilities and the upgrade of existing learning spaces for our 900 students. Facilities include well resourced Learning and Access Centres, a gymnasium, a performing arts studio, two music rooms, a Maker Space and a DARC (Design, Arts, Recording and Cooking) Room. Shared facilities (with Sha Tin College) include an indoor swimming pool and a sports hall.

Our school vision – ‘Learning for Life’ – is underpinned by four core values. In order to aspire towards a life of learning, we encourage our students to focus on:

  • Wellbeing
  • Inclusivity
  • Flexible minds
  • Making a difference

We offer a balanced programme ensuring learners have the opportunity to develop academically, mentally, socially and physically. Our programme is guided by the philosophy of Positive Education and is inquiry-based in outlook. Individual needs are catered for through an inclusive approach, implementing a range of teaching and learning approaches. All stakeholders are encouraged to develop resilience, use a growth mindset and a ‘can do’ attitude. We empower learners to take meaningful action and realise the impact each and every one of us can have in reaching the 2030 Global Goals.

Sha Tin Junior School is fully authorised to offer the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (IB PYP).


Address: 3A Lai Wo Lane, Fo Tan, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2692 2721
Fax: +852 2602 5572



Sha Tin, all of the New Territories north of the Lung Cheung, Caldecott and Tai Po Roads, the Ma On Shan side of Tolo Inlet and Three Fathoms Cove, Symphony Bay to and including Nga Yiu Tau Tsuen and Tsing Yi Island.